Skip to Main Content
SUNY OLIS logo
 

Alma Electronic Resources Management

Working with and managing electronic resources in Alma.

Linking in Alma

Linking is an important component to electronic resource access and depends on a few things:

  • Access URL:
    • Do you want to use a static URL at the portfolio level (typically, the URL provided by the vendor or publisher)?
    • Do you want to use the parser parameters in the electronic collection?
  • Proxy:
    • Does the content require a proxy because it's a licensed resource or is the content available Open Access and therefore does not require an off-campus proxy?
  • Parameters:
    • Some vendors require an additional linking parameter for linking to work properly. When working with a given resource, do you need to include your library's account ID, location ID, customer ID, or other parameter so linking works properly?

Proxy Settings

How do you verify that your proxy is enabled for licensed resources and disabled for free resources?

Topics

Answer

Your proxy settings can be managed in multiple places: Electronic Collection, Service, portfolio. SLS recommends that you manage it at the service level because that is where you control other linking settings.

To find collections that are licensed but not proxied (and will therefore have to be proxied):

  • Electronic Collection (IZ) Advanced Search: Proxied Enabled (Service) EQUALS No AND Free (Electronic Collection) EQUALS Not Free 
    missing proxy search

To find collections that are proxied but free (and the proxy should be removed):

  • Switch the Electronic Collection (IZ) Advanced Search Proxied Enabled (Service) EQUALS to Yes and the Free (Electronic Collection) EQUALS to Free


Enabling or disabling the proxy:

  • Look up your Electronic Collection
  • In the three dots, choose Edit Service
  • On the Linking Tab, enable or disable your proxy:
    proxy settings

Account Parameters

Which Electronic Collections Require Special Parameters to Work, and How Do I Add These Parameters?

Topics

Answer

For the most part, the parser parameters and linking information that is default in Alma will work for full-text linking.

However, some resources require additional parameters for linking to work, including:

  • Gale
  • Proquest
  • ABC-CLIO
  • Ovid
  • Westlaw


Edit Special Parameters:

If you're adding a new collection that might have special parameters, or you're troubleshooting linking problems, follow these steps to edit the parameters:

  • Find the collection with the Electronic Collection Search
  • Select Edit Service from the ellipses on the collection
  • Select the linking tab on the Electronic Service Editor
  • The Special Parameters area is at the bottom of the linking tab. If you already have other collections from this same vendor, check one of those to see what parameters are needed
  • Note that sometimes there are extra fields in the special parameters area that you may not need, like Shibboleth or other options
  • To add special parameters for Link in Record collections, see What's a Link in Record collection and how do I manage it?