Alma Electronic Resources Management

The CZ Updates Task List let's you know when changes have been made to any electronic collections that you've activated. This includes changes to metadata, updates to links, removal of content from a collection, or the removal of a collection from the CZ. It's important to monitor the CZ Updates Task List to prevent your patrons from losing access to content in Primo VE. The only way you'll know if a title or collection has been deactivated is if you keep an eye on the CZ Updates Task List, or if someone complains.

Using the CZ Updates Task List:

• Make sure that you've got the Repository Manager role
• Look in the Alma header under Resources->Manage Inventory
• Don't have to check the list daily - weekly or monthly would be fine. You can set a calendar reminder.
• Filter by the most important types of actions: Electronic collection deleted, portfolio deleted, and electronic service deleted.
• When you see something that has been deleted, you will need to take action to reactivate it in a new collection, service, or portfolio.

Ex Libris Documentation:

• Working with the Community Zone Updates Task List

SLS Training Videos:

The workflow described in this FAQ allows libraries to activate electronic collections with a resource type of selective package and automate the process to keep holdings up to date.

It's a good idea to do a regular audit of your electronic resource activations in Alma and on your library's A-Z list and other webpages to make sure that everything is up to date.

General things to check for include:

• Vendor platform and URL changes
• Missed activations or deactivations
• Link testing
• Permalink updates

For more detailed instructions, see the SLS FAQ: What are the steps involved in an electronic resources audit?