Repositories Knowledge Base

For SOAR

Creating a Subcommunity

• Select a Community from the homepage 
• On the left, under ‘Context’ click ‘Create Subcommunity’ 
• Enter a Sub-community name and short description 
• Enter additional information if necessary (e.g., Introductory text, Copyright text, News) 
• Add a Sub-community logo if available by uploading an image 
• Click the 'Create' button 

 
Creating a Collection

• Best Practice - campuses can create their own collections, but working with OLIS to create a collection ensures authorizations are appropriately applied.
• Select a Community from the homepage 
• On the left, under ‘Context’ click ‘Create Collection’ 
• Enter a Collection name and short description 
• Enter additional information if necessary (e.g., Introductory text, Copyright text, News, License, Provenance) 
• Add a Collection logo if available by uploading an image 
• Click the 'Create' button 

For SDR

Creating a Subcommunity

• Click on Communities and Collections and select a community, or search for a community
• Hover over the tools menu on the left side and click on New > Community
• A "New community" window will open with a list of communities. The community that you are currently in should be highlighted at the top of the list: click on it to select it.
• "Create a Sub-Community for Community [   ]" page will open. 
• Drag and drop or browse for a logo, if desired.
• Name the subcommunity (required)
• Add any further information in the fields provided.
• Click "Save."

Creating a Collection

• Click on Communities and Collections and select a community, or search for a community.
• Navigate to the subcommunity where you wish to create a collection (if required).
• Hover over the tools menu on the left side and click on New > Collection.
• A "New collection" window will open with a list of communities. The community that you are currently in should be highlighted at the top of the list: click on it to select it.
• "Create a Collection for Community [   ]" page will open.
• Drag and drop or browse for a logo, if desired.
• Name the collection (required).
• Add any further information in the fields provided.
• Click "Save."