OLIS provides two open access environments to SUNY campuses.
SOAR is a centrally managed online digital repository that stores, indexes, and makes available scholarly and creative works of SUNY faculty, students, and staff across SUNY campuses. SOAR serves as an open access platform for those SUNY campuses that do not have their own open access repository environments. It supplements rather than supplants local SUNY campus repositories. More information is available at the SOAR Content Guidelines.
SDR is a centrally managed repository that includes collections from approximately 40 campus and SUNY System Administration. It differs from the SUNY Open Access Repository (SOAR) in that its content covers a broad range of topics with a strong focus on local campus archival and special collections. This repository is also used to house Open Educational Resources (OER).
Dryad is both an open data publishing platform and a community committed to the open availability and routine re-use of all research data. SUNY has an institutional membership which covers the cost of dataset publishing for researchers on specific SUNY campuses to store, share, and publish their research data in a secure and standardized manner, promoting transparency, reproducibility, and the long-term preservation of valuable research outputs. Visit the Dryad at SUNY page to learn more.
Both repositories are built on the DSpace platform. The Office of Library and Information Services (OLIS) works with the registered DSpace Service Provider Atmire to provide hosting and technical support. SOAR is based on a version of DSpace called Open Repository, which provides for enhanced statistics, author profiles, integration with 3rd party services, and more powerful tools for administrators. The SDR is based on a version called DSpace Express which provides a basic affordable full service repository.