Repositories Knowledge Base

Accepted manuscript

•  The final draft author manuscript, as accepted for publication by a journal, including modifications based on referees’ suggestions, before it has undergone copyediting, typesetting and proof correction
• https://academic.oup.com/journals/pages/self_archiving_policy_a
• Synonym: Post-print

Author's original version

•  The un-refereed author version of an article completed before submission of the article to the journal
•  https://academic.oup.com/journals/pages/self_archiving_policy_a
•  Synonyms: pre-print, submitted manuscript, e-print

Batch load import*

• The method for uploading submissions to SOAR as a zipped SimpleArchiveFormat (.saf) file.
• https://soar.suny.edu/admin/batchimport (requires login)

Bitstream

• In the context of SOAR, a bitstream is a document (i.e., full-text PDF) associated with an item in a repository.
• https://wiki.lyrasis.org/display/DSDOC4x/Functional+Overview

CreativeCommons

    Standardized way to grant copyright permission, https://creativecommons.org/

•     BY (CC): Credit must be given to the creator
•     CC No-derivatives (ND): No adaptations of work may be created
•     CC Non-commercial (NC): The work may not be used for commercial purposes
•     CC Share Alike (SA): Adaptations must be shared under the same terms as applied to the original work
•     CC0: Work is in the public domain, no license is applied

Collection*

A group of items in within a communities. Functionally, it is the most specific grouping - a collection will be added to the community when there are no more sub-groupings e.g., Doctoral Degree Granting Institutions (community) > Upstate Medical University (community) > College of Graduate Studies (Community) > Scholarly Publications by Department (Community) > Cell and Developmental Biology (collection).

• https://www.ohiolink.edu/sites/default/files/uploads/DSpaceOverviewPres.pdf

Community (and Sub-community)*

• The organizational/hierarchical units in DSpace/OpenRepository, Communities require collections for items to be deposited to them.
• https://www.ohiolink.edu/sites/default/files/uploads/DSpaceOverviewPres.pdf

CrossRef

• Citation database and DOI registration organization
• https://www.crossref.org/

CSV validation*

• Checks .csv metadata import files for compliance with SOAR/OpenRepository submission rules
• https://soar.suny.edu/csv-validation (requires login)

Document Object Identifier (DOI)

• Unique, persistent identifier assigned to a work
• https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_object_identifier

Dublin Core (dc) Metadata Element Set

• A set of fifteen "core" elements (properties) for describing resources
• https://dublincore.org/

E-print

• The un-refereed author version of an article completed before submission of the article to the journal
• https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ArXiv
• Synonyms: pre-print, submitted manuscript, author's original version

Gold open access

• Paying for an article processing charge (APC) to make the version of record/publisher's version openly available on the publisher's website. In the case of articles funded by the NIH, they must also be placed in PubMed Central.
• https://blogs.openbookpublishers.com/green-gold-diamond-black-what-does-it-all-mean

Green open access

• Self-archiving the author's submitted or accepted version of an article to an online open access repository.
• https://blogs.openbookpublishers.com/green-gold-diamond-black-what-does-it-all-mean

Institutional repository (IR)

• An archive for collecting, preserving, and disseminating digital copies of the intellectual output of an institution, particularly a research institution. One way that an author may self-archive.
• https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Institutional_repository

Metadata

• A set of data that describes and gives information about other data.
• https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metadata

Open access

• The free, immediate, online availability of research articles coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment.
•  https://sparcopen.org/open-access/

OpenRepository

• The enhanced DSpace platform (used by SOAR)
• https://www.atmire.com/open-repository

PMID, PMCID

• PubMed Identifier, and PubMed Central Identifier - unique, persistent identifiers assigned by the NIH. Articles often have both a PMID and PCMID.
• https://publicaccess.nih.gov/include-pmcid-citations.htm#:~:text=The%20Difference%20Between%20a%20PMCID%20and%20a%20PMID,-The%20PubMed%20Central&text=PubMed%20Central%20is%20an%20index,the%20NIH%20Public%20Access%20Policy.

Post print

• Accepted, peer-reviewed manuscript that has not yet been formatted for final publication in the journal.
• https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Postprint
• Synonyms: accepted manuscript

Pre-print

• Submitted manuscript, not yet peer-reviewed.
• https://www.aje.com/arc/benefits-of-preprints-for-researchers/
• Synonyms: submitted manuscript, author's original version, e-print

Published version

• Version of article available from the publisher's website
• https://v2.sherpa.ac.uk/romeo/help.html
• Synonyms: version of record

PubMed

    Database of citations from biomedical literature from the NIH

    https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/

PubMed Central

• A full-text, open access repository. Articles funded by the NIH must be placed in PMC.
• https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/

Self-archive

• Depositing a free copy of an electronic document online in order to provide open access to it. Submitting works to SOAR is an example of self-archiving. Also called "green open access." Self-archiving may be done in an institutional repository, a disciplinary archive, general archive (i.e., arXiv), the author's website, etc.,
• https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self-archiving

Sherpa Romeo

• Database of summaries of publisher copyright and open access archiving policies.
• https://v2.sherpa.ac.uk/romeo/

SimpeArchiveFormat*

• A type of file generated from a .csv or .xlsx file that is imported into SOAR. Requires a script.
• https://www.semanticconsulting.com/blog/2017-12-09-convert-spreadsheet-excel-or-calc-data-dspace-simple-archive-format-package

UTF-8

• The csv format required for bulk uploading metadata to SOAR.
• https://blog.hubspot.com/website/what-is-utf-8

Version of record

• Final typeset and edited version of a journal article available on the publisher's website, also called published version
• https://academic.oup.com/journals/pages/self_archiving_policy_a
• Synonyms: published version

XLS import forms*

• Available to SOAR administrators. The import forms dictate how the submission process takes place. This is where fields in the submission forms are added or subtracted, option lists are managed, etc.
• https://soar.suny.edu/admin/xlsupload (login required)

Zip Upload

• Available to SOAR administrators.  Method for importing multiple full-text documents to SOAR. This file must be uploaded before the metadata file (.csv or zipped .saf) is uploaded.
• https://soar.suny.edu/zip-upload (login required)

--------

* Specific to DSpace / OpenRepository