Skip to Main Content

Accessibility and SLS

covers what SUNY Library Services is doing to address accessibility both internally and for SUNY

Deque University

SUNY employees can learn more about accessibility through Deque University. Deque University is a digital accessibility training platform that offers self-paced courses for a wide variety of topics, including web accessibility, document accessibility, multimedia accessibility and more. All courses are searchable and may be used as a reference. Upon completion of each course, you will receive a certificate of completion. To submit a request for user access, contact your campus EIT Officer.

Here are several recommended courses:

  • Disability Etiquette Basics
  • Effective Communication, Part 2: Remote Communication
  • Basic Web and Document Accessibility for Content Contributors
  • MS Word Accessibility Techniques
  • MS PowerPoint Accessibility Techniques
  • Basic PDF Accessibility

IAAP Certification

Here's the overview for IAAP Certification. There are three levels:

  • The IAAP Certified Professional in Accessibility Core Competencies (CPACC) credential is IAAP's foundational certification, representing broad, cross-disciplinary conceptual knowledge about 1) disabilities, 2) accessibility and universal design, and 3) accessibility-related standards, laws, and management strategies.  Visit our CPACC Overview page for more information.
  • The IAAP Web Accessibility Specialist (WAS) credential is a technical level exam for an individual with at least an intermediate level of detailed technical knowledge about the WCAG guidelines and other related web accessibility topics. This exam is not intended for beginners or those without regular hands-on experience in identifying and remediating accessibility issues in code. Visit our WAS Overview page for more information.
  • Certified Professional in Web Accessibility (CPWA) credential is earned by individuals who successfully pass both the Certified Professional in Accessibility Core Competencies (CPACC) exam and the Web Accessibility Specialist (WAS) exam.