Skip to Main Content
SUNY OLIS logo
 

SUNY Library Services (SLS)

SUNY Collections

The SLS offers a number of collections services for SUNY campuses:

  • Shared collections management
  • Shared licensing and procurement
  • Professional development opportunities

Collections available for all SUNY libraries are listed below. SLS maintains contracts for a number of other resources. For more information submit a ticket or visit the Collections Portal.

Collections Portal

The Collections Portal provides contract information, pricing, and current SUNY offers. Contact info@sunyolis.libanswers.com if you need help with the password.

Shared Electronic Resources

SUNY-wide subscriptions to databases spanning the academic disciplines allow for significantly greater library resource access than what would be available to the individual libraries.

The following databases are available to all SUNY libraries through SUNYConnect:

  • Academic Video Online (AVON): Managed in the Alma Network Zone
  • EBSCO:
    • Academic Search Alumni Edition - Note: contains subset of content from Academic Search Complete, shouldn't be activated in Alma, on a different platform (alumni) from rest of databases so won't appear in All EBSCO database title list, meant to be used for separate alumni access
    • Academic Search Complete
    • American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
    • Applied Science & Technology Source
    • Associated Press Newswire (formerly AP NewsMonitor Collection (AP, UPI, etc.))
    • Business Source Alumni Edition - Note: contains subset of content from Business Source Complete, shouldn't be activated in Alma, on a different platform (alumni) from rest of databases so won't appear in All EBSCO database title list, meant to be used for separate alumni access
    • Business Source Complete
    • CINAHL Plus with Full text
    • Diversity and Ethic Studies eBook Subscription Collection
    • eBook Collection: titles formerly housed on NetLibrary platform
    • Education Source
    • Environment Complete
    • ERIC
    • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (freely available)
    • Exploring Race in American (freely available)
    • Greenfile
    • Health Source - Consumer Edition
    • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    • Humanities Source
    • LGBTQ+ Source (formerly LGBT Life with Full Text)
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
    • MasterFILE Premier
    • MEDLINE with Full Text
    • Military & Government Collection
    • Newspaper Source Plus
    • Points of View Reference Center
    • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    • Regional and Business News
    • Social Sciences Full Text
    • Teacher Reference Center
  • Gale:
    • Lit Finder
    • Literature Resource Center
    • Virtual Reference Library: contract covers the annual access fee so that campuses can add e-book purchases
  • Elsevier ScienceDirect: Core package managed in Network Zone, Perpetual Access managed in campus Institution Zones
  • HarpWeek (ProQuest)


The following databases have been removed from the SUNYConnect package:

EBSCO:

  • Alt HealthWatch (July 2022)
  • Associates Programs Source (July 2022)
  • Canadian Reference Centre (July 2020)
  • Computer Source (July 2022)
  • Energy and Power Source (July 2022)
  • Entrepreneurial Studies Source (July 2022)
  • Fuente Academica Plus (July 2022)
  • Professional Development Collection (July 2020)
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection (July 2022)
  • Vocational and Career Collection (July 2022)

NOVEL

NOVELny provides eResources to all New York residents.

Current databases include:

  • Britannica Academic
  • Gale:
    • Academic OneFile
    • Academic OneFile Select
    • Business: Insights
    • General OneFile
    • Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
    • Gale OneFile: Computer Science
    • Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
    • Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
    • Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
    • Gale OneFile: News
    • The New York Times

Policies and Procedures

For Vendors: eResource Proposals

Please use this form to submit proposals for electronic resource offers to be considered by the SUNY Library Consortium. Someone will contact you within 5 business days.

EBC eBook Lending Project

Why is eBook lending important?

  • Method to provide access amid finite budgets and limited physical space
  • Ebook Interlibrary Loan (ILL) represents an important option for libraries to provide patrons access to content beyond their respective collections
  • The inability to use eBook ILL creates a significant gap in library access and in the institution's ability to efficiently fulfill niche requests

Scope:

The SUNY eBook Lending Project is a collaboration between Proquest and SUNY, designed to develop processes for lending eBook titles to users from any SUNY campus who has chosen to participate in the pilot. Traditionally, eBooks purchased by a campus would only be available for that campus's students, faculty, and staff, but this project opens that up to allow any participating campus's users to borrow selective titles owned by other campuses. Not all books will be available across SUNY: the pilot is limited to publishers who have agreed to participate in the pilot.

The following campuses have agreed to participate in this pilot project:

  • Adirondack, Albany, Binghamton, Brockport, Broome, Cayuga, Clinton, Cobleskill, Corning, Cortland, Delhi, Empire State College, Farmingdale, Fashion Institute of Technology, Fredonia, Geneseo, Herkimer, Hudson Valley, SUNY Maritime, Mohawk Valley, Monroe, Morrisville, New Paltz, Old Westbury, Oneonta, Onondaga, Oswego, Plattsburgh, Potsdam, Purchase, SUNY ESF, SUNY Polytechnic, Schenectady, Ulster, University at Buffalo

The following publishers are participating in the project:

  • Taylor and Francis: (no textbooks or content newer than pub year = 2019)​
  • Brill​
  • NYU Press​
  • OUP​
  • Duke​
  • Bloomsbury​

Management:

Because of challenges with routing eBook requests through Alma Resource Sharing and ILLiad, SUNY Library Services will be filling requests for most of the participating campuses. This is a departure from traditional campus-managed interlibrary loan, and may lead to some questions and confusion for the end user.


Workflow:

  • Borrowable eBooks will appear as Available in the participating campus's Primo, and the full text "Request Access" link will take the user to a form that automatically populates the title, ISBN, and author of the requested work. The user is asked to fill in their name, email, and campus. There is no way to force the user to use their campus email address.
  • The form sends a new ticket announcement to SUNY Library Services staff, who will monitor the queue and fulfill requests M-F 8am-4pm. Users will receive notice from info@sunyolis.libanswers.com as to whether the item is available (the message will include a link to the content) or if all copies are checked out (the message will include expected availability date).
  • The user will follow the link to the eBook Central platform, where they will have access to the book for two weeks, at which point the link will stop working. The user may use the online reader to access the book, or download it for use with the Adobe Digital Editions App. Proquest download info
  • The EILL patron will have a nearly complete Reader experience. They will be blocked from annotations, bookmarks, bookshelf, highlighting and navigating into the rest of the Lending Library’s site. They will have access to citation and be able to change language under Settings.
  • If the book is available for Full Download, the book will be downloaded based on how many days are left remaining in the 2 week expiration period. Since we only loan for 1 day periods, the longest loan possible will be for 13 days. If less than 24 hours are left in the 2 week period and the EILL user wants to download the book, Full Download will not be allowed. They will still be able to use the book in the Reader.

Help:

Contact info@sunyolis.libanswers.com with any questions about this project.