Alma Resource Management

Alma provides the following kinds of import profiles:

• New Order – Bibliographic records with embedded order data (EOD). Used to import bibliographic information and create PO lines and physical/electronic inventory.
• Update Inventory – Shelf-ready material for inventory associated with PO lines, based on the PO line reference number or vendor reference number.
• Repository – Bibliographic records. Used to import bibliographic information and create physical/electronic inventory.
• Authority – Used to update authority records on an ongoing basis. Existing authority records that are matched with imported ones are updated and new imported authority records are added. (Available only if enabled by Ex Libris)
• Initial Authority – Completely reload authority records. If matching authority records exist, they are deleted and replaced by the new ones. Available only if enabled by Ex Libris and you have local authority records in your repository)
• Digital – Bibliographic records for digital inventory, and may also contain the digital inventory. There are two types of digital import profiles:
  • Local - Import digital resources stored locally
  • Remote - Import digital resources stored in a remote digital repository
• Collections – Used to create top-level collections with their sub-collections by importing an encoded archival description (EAD) or OAI-PMH ListSets file.

To create, edit, copy, or delete import profiles, you must have one of the following roles:

• Catalog Administrator
• Acquisitions Administrator

To view or share an import profile, you must have one of the following roles:

• Acquisitions Administrator
• Purchasing Operator
• Purchasing Manager
• Repository Administrator
• Catalog Administrator
• General System Administrator

To delete an import profile, you must have one of the following roles:

• Repository Administrator
• Catalog Administrator
• Acquisitions Administrator
• General System Administrator

To create/edit a digital import profile, you must have the following role:

• Digital Inventory Operator

Note that you may use a New Order API instead of setting up a New Order Import profile.

To create an new order import profile for physical bib records:

1. Go to Resources>Import>Manage Import Profiles
2. Click Add New Profile
3. Select New Order
4. Click Next
   • Use Network Zone: make sure it is checked. To use Institution Zone, uncheck the box.
   • Profile Name: [name the set - mandatory]
   • Description: [optional]
   • Originating System: [select the vendor]
   • File pattern:
     • GOBI UTF-8 uses .ord files
   • Import Protocol options:
     • Upload Files
     • FTP:
       • Scheduling: [configure if using FTP]
       • Fill out the FTP Information at the bottom of the screen
         • Get information from the vendor to populate:
           • Server
           • Username
           • Password
           • Input directory
           • If full path is required to be used
         • Click Test Connection to make sure it works
   • Crosswalk:[No]
   • Physical Source Format: Binary
   • Encoding Format: UTF-8
   • Source Format: MARC21 Bibliographic
   • Target Format: MARC21 Bibliographic
   • Status: Active
5. Click Next
   • Filter Out Data Using:
     • NZ: use SUNY Remove E-Reources and 066 Filter and 040 $b not ENG
     • IZ: create an IZ copy of the SUNY Remove E-Reources and 066 Filter and 040 $b not ENG merge rule in the MD Editor and use that copy
   • Correct Data Using: SUNY OCLC Import Normalization Rule
   • Handle Invalid Data Using: MarcXML Bib Metadata Editing On Save
6. Click Next
   • Match Profile
     • Match by Serial / Non Serial: Yes
     • Serial and Non Serial Match Method:
       • Unique OCLC Identifier Match Method if the 035 includes (OCoLC)
       • 035 (other system identifier) match method if the 035 does not include (OCoLC)
       • ISSN/024/035 Match Method and ISBN/024/035 Match Method if no OCLC number is included
   • Match Actions:
     • Handling Method: Automatic
     • Upon Match: Merge
     • Check the box for Single match - match only record with the same inventory type (electronic/physical)
     • Merge Method: SUNY Overlay All But Local Fields
     • DO NOT USE: Do not Override/merge a record with a lower brief version
       • Causes errors and will not update bib records with the same brief level
     • Do not override/merge record with an older version: Disabled
   • Automatic Multi-Match Handling
     • Preferred record: Record with the highest brief level
   • Handle Record Redirection:
     • Canceled Record: Delete
   • No Match:
     • Upon no match: Import to Network
7. Click Next
   • Synchronize with OCLC: [choose to Publish Bibliographic records or Don't Publish]
   • Condition: Unconditionally
8. Click Next
   • Inventory Operations: [Select the correct inventory]
     • Electronic - electronic only
     • Mixed - electronic and physical
     • Physical - physical only
   • Form populates based on the inventory operations chosen
     • Fill out the rest of the import profile based upon the import profile for the vendor
9. Click Next
   • Fill out the POL information based on where the POL is in the MARC record from the vendor
10. Click Save
11. Click Edit from the ellipses of the import profile that was just created to Map funds and locations if those boxes were checked when creating the New Order Import Profile

Note that you may use a New Order API instead of setting up a New Order Import profile.

To create an new order import profile for eBooks:

1. Go to Resources>Import>Manage Import Profiles
2. Click Add New Profile
3. Select New Order
4. Click Next
   • Use Network Zone: uncheck the box. eBooks bib records should not be added to the NZ
   • Profile Name: [Type name]
   • Description: [optional]
   • Originating System: [select the vendor] Select “Other” if the vendor system is not in the list
   • File pattern: [Type .mrc]
   • Import Protocol options:
     • Upload Files
     • FTP:
       • Scheduling: [configure if using FTP]
       • Fill out the FTP Information at the bottom of the screen
         • Get information from the vendor to populate:
           • Server
           • Username
           • Password
           • Input directory
           • If full path is required to be used
         • Click Test Connection to make sure it works
   • Crosswalk:[No]
   • Physical Source Format: Binary
   • Encoding Format: UTF-8
   • Source Format: MARC21 Bibliographic
   • Target Format: MARC21 Bibliographic
   • Status: Active
5. Click Next
   • Filter Out Data Using: [Leave blank]
   • Correct Data Using: SUNY OCLC Import Normalization Rule
   • Handle Invalid Data Using: MarcXML Bib Import
6. Click Next
   • Match Profile
     • Match by Serial / Non Serial: Yes
     • Serial and Non Serial Match Method:
       • Unique OCLC Identifier Match Method if the 035 includes (OCoLC)
       • 035 (other system identifier) match method if the 035 does not include (OCoLC)
       • ISSN/024/035 Match Method and ISBN/024/035 Match Method if no OCLC number is included
   • Match Actions:
     • Handling Method: Automatic
     • Upon Match: Choose Merge, Overlay, or Do Not Import
     • Check the box for Single match - match only record with the same inventory type (electronic/physical)
     • Merge Method: SUNY Overlay All But Local Fields
     • DO NOT USE: Do not Override/merge a record with a lower brief version
       • Causes errors and will not update bib records with the same brief level
     • Do not override/merge record with an older version: [Optional]
   • Automatic Multi-Match Handling
     • Preferred record: Record with the highest brief level
   • Handle Record Redirection:
     • Canceled Record: Delete
   • No Match:
     • Upon no match: Import to Network
7. Click Next
   • Synchronize with OCLC: [choose Don't Publish]
   • Condition: Unconditionally or Only new records
8. Click Next
   • Inventory Operations: Electronic - electronic only

   • eBook Mapping: Use the information from your technical specifications from the vendor to configure the inventory operations screen:

     • Portfolio Type – [Select Part of an electronic collection
       • Ebooks should be added to a CZ or local collection
     • Electronic Collection – [Select the electronic collection]
       • Use the search list to find the electronic collection
     • Service – [Select service type]
       • Defaults to Full Text
     • Material type – [Select material type]
       • Defaults to Book
     • Single portfolio
       • Select single portfolio unless the portfolios comes in parts and the EOD contains separate URLs for each part
     • Create inventory only for new bibliographic records – [Leave unchecked]
     • Extract access URL from field –[Enter MARC field from EOD]
     • Subfield – [Enter MARC subfield from EOD]
     • Populate other information that is contained in the EOD if applicable
       • Only need the URL, but libraries may map notes
     • License – [Select the license]
       • Licenses must be configured and in Alma to be selected
     • Activate resource – [Check the box]
       • This activates and makes the eBook available upon import
9. Click Next

   • EOD General Parameters:

     • Electronic PO Line type – [Select Electronic Book – One time]
     • Multiple vendors – [Leave unchecked]
     • Vendor – [Select vendor]
     • Vendor account – [Select the ebook account]
       • Must be configured in the vendor information to select
     • PO Line Currency – [Use default of USD]
     • Decimal point location – [Leave 0 if the EOD contains pricing in this format: 10.00]
     • Acquisitions method – [Select acquisition method]
       • Use “Purchase at vendor system” if the institution uses funds
         • Requires fund mapping to be configured after saving the import profile
       • Use “Technical” if the institution does not use funds
     • Map fields based on how fields are mapped in the vendor tech specs
     • Default PO Line owner – [Select the purchasing library]
     • Map funds – [Check this box when using “Purchase at Vendor System”]
       • Funds need to be mapped after saving the import profile
     • Access Model Field/subfield or Default Access Model Field
       • Use the Access Model Field and subfield if the access model is mapped in the EOD populate
       • Use a Default Access model if there is no access model mapped in the EOD
       • Can leave these fields blank and will not impact import
     • Do not create electronic task – [Check this box]
       • Only check this box if you selected “Activate resource” on screen 6 of the import profile
10. Click Save

    • Mapping Funds:

      • Select Edit from the ellipses of the import profile
      • Click on the Mapping tab
      • Click Add Fund
        • Source Name – [Type the name of the fund]
        • Fund – [Select the fund from the list]
        • Click Add
          • NOTE : Repeat this step for every fund that is required to be mapped
      • Click Save

1. Go to Resources>Import>Manage Import Profiles
2. Click Add New Profile
3. Select Repository
4. Click Next
   • Use Network Zone:
     • For an NZ import profile: Keep Checked
     • For an IZ import profile: Uncheck
   • Profile Name: [name the set - mandatory]
   • Description: [optional]
   • Originating System: [select the vendor or choose Other if it is not in the list]
   • File pattern: [input the file pattern such as .mrc for MARC files]
   • Import Protocol:
     • Upload - manually upload the files 
     • FTP - requires Scheduling and FTP Information fields in the import profile to be configured
     • OAI - requires Scheduling and OAI Information fields in the import profile to be configured
   • Crosswalk:[Yes]
   • Physical Source Format: Binary
   • Encoding Format: UTF-8
   • Source Format: MARC21 Bibliographic
   • Target Format: MARC21 Bibliographic
   • Status: Active
5. Click Next
   • Filter Out Data Using:
     • NZ: SUNY Remove E-Reources and 066 Filter and 040 $b not ENG
     • IZ: leave blank
   • Correct Data Using:
     • NZ: SUNY NZ OCLC import
     • IZ: use Copy of SUNY NZ OCLC Import
   • Handle Invalid Data Using: MarcXML Bib Import
6. Click Next
   • Match Profile
     • Match by Serial / Non Serial: Yes
     • Serial and Non Serial Match Method:
       • Unique OCLC Identifier Match Method if the 035 includes (OCoLC)
       • 035 (other system identifier) match method if the 035 does not include (OCoLC)
       • ISSN/024/035 Match Method and ISBN/024/035 Match Method if no OCLC number is included
   • Match Actions:
     • Handling Method: Automatic
     • Upon Match: Merge
     • Check the box for Single match - match only record with the same inventory type (electronic/physical)
     • Merge Method: SUNY Overlay All But Local Fields
     • Select Action
       • Allow Bibliographic record deletion
         • Must be checked if you want the same import profile to add, update, and delete bib records from Alma
         • This should only be checked for IZ import profiles
           • Deletions only happen when the LDR 05 = d and No POLs and associated inventory
         • This should not be checked for an NZ import profile as Institutions should not delete NZ records
       • Do not override/merge a record with a lower brief version
         • Do not check this as it currently will not merge or override a record with the same or lower brief level
     • DO NOT USE: Do not Override/merge a record with a lower brief version
       • Causes errors and will not update bib records with the same brief level
     • Do not override/merge record with an older version: Disabled
   • Automatic Multi-Match Handling
     • Preferred record: Record with the highest brief level
   • Handle Record Redirection Section - The Alma import process supports external catalog management of bibliographic records. For institutions that manage their Alma catalog based on input from an external catalog, the Alma import profile provides options for managing bibliographic record changes in the Alma database that are determined by the external catalog. 
     • Currently not being used in SUNY
     • To keep uniformity, change the Merge Method to "SUNY - Overlay All But Local Fields"
   • No Match:
     • Upon no match: Import
7. Click Next
   • Synchronize with OCLC: [choose to Publish Bibliographic records or Don't Publish]
   • Condition: Unconditionally
8. Click Next
   • Inventory Operations: select the inventory being added with the import profile, if any
9. Click Save

• Managing Import Profiles
• Importing Records Using an Import Profile
• Import Profile Types
• Import Profiles EOD