Skip to Main Content
SUNY OLIS logo
 

Alma Resource Management

Working with the Metadata Editor in the Institution and Network Zones. Includes indication and normalization rules.

Exporting Bib Records

Bib records may need to be exported from Alma to review and/or correct data, and may be exported as an Excel, XML or .mrc file.

Exporting Bib Records To Excel

  1. Perform a repository search
  2. Click on the Export to list icon export icon
  3. Choose your fields option:
    • Export (current view) - exports the visible column in the repository results
    • Export (all fields) - exports visible and hidden columns
  4. The report will be exported to Excel

Exporting Bib Records as an .mrc File

How can I create a .mrc file from a set of bib records in Alma?

Topics

Answer

You can create a .mrc file from a set of bibliographic records in Alma by performing the following steps:

  1. Create a set of bib records in Alma
  2. Go to Admin>Manage Jobs and Sets>Run a Job
  3. Search by Name for the following job: Export Bibliographic Records
  4. Click on the radio button next to the Export Bibliographic Records job
  5. Click Next
  6. Click on the radio button next to the set you want to export
  7. Click Next
    choose set and click next 
  8. Enter Task Parameters
    1. Physical format: Binary
    2. Output format: MARC21 Bibliographic
    3. Number of records in a file: One
    4. Export into folder: Private
      1. This allows the file to be downloaded from the job history
  9. Click Next
    enter parameters and click next
  10. Review job
  11. Click Submit
    submit job
  12. Download the .mrc file
    1. Got to Admin>Manage Jobs and Sets>Monitor jobs. Skip this step if you are already monitoring the job
    2. Click on the History tab
    3. Click Report from the ellipses for the job
      choose report from options 
    4. Click on the “Link to Export Records” link
      choose link to export 
    5. Click Download from the ellipses of the report
      download report 
  13. Open the downloaded .mrc using MarcEdit or similar software

 

Ex Libris Documentation: 

Exporting Bib Records as an XML

To export a set of bib records from Alma as an XML file:

  1. Create a set in Alma
  2. Go to Admin>Manage Jobs and Sets>Run a Job
  3. Search by Name for the following job: Export Bibliographic Records
  4. Click on the radio button next to the “Export Bibliographic Records” job
  5. Click Next
    run export job
  6. Click on the radio button next to the set you want to export
  7. Click Next
  8. Enter Task Parameters
    • Physical format: XML
    • Output format: MARC21 Bibliographic
    • Number of records in a file: One
    • Export into folder: Private [This allows the file to be downloaded from the job history]
  9. Click Next
    add parameters and hit next
  10. Review job
  11. Click Submit
  12. Download the .mrc file
    1. Got to Admin>Manage Jobs and Sets>Monitor jobs
    2. Click on the History tab
    3. Click Report from the ellipses for the job
      go to job report
    4. Click on the “Link to Export Records” link
      link to export records
    5. Click Download from the ellipses of the report
      download file
  13. Open the download

 

Supporting Ex Libris Documentation: