Skip to Main Content
SUNY OLIS logo
 

Alma Resource Management

Working with the Metadata Editor in the Institution and Network Zones. Includes indication and normalization rules.

Local Extensions Overview

Local notes are referred to as "local extensions" in the MD Editor.

  • Local notes are the ONLY MARC fields that should be added to NZ-linked record.
  • Local notes are the only MARC fields retained and protected from being overlayed when the OCLC bib record is updated in the Network Zone (NZ).
  • The house icon housenext to the MARC field identifies it as a local field
  • "Add Local Extension" adds an invisible $$9local to the field to indicate that it is a local field
  • Local Extensions may be added to NZ-linked bib records, IZ only bib records, and CZ-linked bib records

SUNY Local MARC Fields

The following MARC fields have been reserved for Consortial use:

  • 975 Primo VE Single Record Display: Used to prevent MARC records from deduping/FRBRization. This field can be applied to an IZ only record, NZ record, or CZ records in an institution. Only institutions that have worked with SUNY Library Services to configure the use of MARC 975 should use this field. Example of the field format: 975 _ _ $a PrimoVE Single Record Display $9 local
  • 976 Copyright Date for Primo VE Display: Used to allow the copyright date in 264 _4 $c to display in Primo VE in addition to the publication date in 264 _1 $c.
    • A normalization rule is used copy MARC 264 _4 $c to MARC 976
    • A display norm rule allows MARC 976 to display the copyright date in Primo VE, as well as the publication date
  • 977 and 979: MARC fields 977 and 979 are not currently being used. They are reserved for future consortial use.
  • 986 Aleph System Number: Populated with the Aleph System number during migration. This MARC field will only display in an institution record via a local extension.
  • 999 OCLC Worldshare Collection Information: Contains information from the OCLC Woldshare query collections for new, updated, and merged records. Records exported directly from OCLC Connexion to the NZ will not contain MARC field 999. MARC 999 may have been created at cutover or after cutover.
    • Records created in the NZ at cutover from the OCLC Worldshare query collection will appear with the Cutover information:
      999__ |a Cutover - 20190517 |b 20190517 |c New collection customer.71307.193
    • Records created and/or updated in the NZ from the OCLC Worldshare query collections will appear with information about the collection, the date, and the action: 999__ |a SUNY LSP Collection |b 20190927 |c Added to collection customer.71307.170
      999__ |a SUNY LSP Collection |b 20201119 |c Master record variable field(s) change: 040, 505

    • NOTE: If there is no MARC 999 in the NZ record it may be as a result of a SUNY institution linking the record to the Network Zone


Local MARC Fields for Institutional Use:

  • SUNY has defined Local MARC fields that can be freely used by institutions to meet their local needs.
  • The following local MARC fields are reserved for unrestricted local use: 982, 983, 984, 985, 990, 991, 992, 993, 995, 996, 997, 998, 999

Adding, Editing, and Deleting Local Extensions

What not to do:
Using the Metadata Editor Edit > Add Field (F8) command and then add the "$$9local" subfield in the ME does NOT work. The field will be a normal field in the NZ and will be lost when the NZ bib record is overlaid. Similarly, adding the "$9 local" subfield in OCLC Connexion before downloading the bib record into Alma will also NOT work, and the new field will again be lost when the NZ bib record is overlaid.

To add a Local Extension:

  1. Open the bib record in the MD Editor
  2. Click Editing Actions>Add Local Extension(Ctrl+L)
  3. Type in the local MARC field and a house Icon will appear next to the local field
  4. Type in the local note
  5. Click on the Save icon (Ctrl+S) or Save>Save and Release Record (Ctrl+Alt+R)

To edit a Local Extension:

  1. Open the bib record in the MD Editor
  2. Click into the local field and make the necessary changes
  3. Click Save>Save and Release Record (Ctrl+Alt+R)

Deleting a Local Extension:

  1. Open the bib record in the MD Editor
  2. Click into the local field to be deleted
  3. Click Editing Actions>Remove Field (Ctrl+F6)
  4. Click Save>Save and Release Record (Ctrl+Alt+R)

Searching for Local Extensions in Alma

Can local MARC fields be searched in an Alma repository search?

Topics

Answer

Local MARC fields need to be enabled in configuration in order to perform a repository search on the local field. The local fields are labeled local_field_### in configuration.

  1. Go to Configuration>Resources>Search Configuration>Search Indexes
  2. Locate the local_field you want to activate
  3. Click Customize from the ellipses
    customize local field
  4. Edit the Search columns only (optional)
    1. Simple Search = False. Does not allow the field to be searched using a simple search
    2. Simple Search = True. Allows the field to be searched in a simple search
    3. Adv. Search = True. Allows the field to be searched in an advanced search
    4. Adv. Search = False. Does not allow the field to be searched using an advanced search
  5. Click on the Enable button (it will turn blue) to enable to local_field_### search index
  6. Click Savesave changes to customization
  7. Logout and then go back into Alma to see the local_field_### in the repository drop down

 

Simple Search Example:

local field search

 

Advanced Search Example:

advanced search example

 

Search index names can be customized as shown in the examples above.

  1. Go to Configuration>Resources>Search Configuration>Customize Index Labels
  2. Type in the label in the text box in the Description column
  3. Click Save

customize index labels

 

Ex Libris Documentation: Can indexing of fields or sub-fields be customized by the institution

How do I search for local notes in Alma?

Topics

Answer

Searching Local Notes in Alma

  • Perform a repository search using Physical titles:Local notes: [Type in search term, example "gift"]

local notes search

  • Local notes display in Alma with a house symbol next to the field:

local notes search result

Displaying and Searching for Local Extensions in Primo VE

  1. Go to Configuration>Discovery>Display Configuration>Manage display and local fields
  2. Click Add Field
  3. Select Add local field
  4. The Define a Local Field screen opens
    1. Field to edit: [Leave default - uses next available local field]
    2. Display label: [Type Local Notes]
    3. Enable field for search: [Check the box to allow local notes be be searchable]
    4. Enable field for facets: [Only check if you want a Local Notes facet]
    5. Click Add MARC21 Fields
      • Search for the local notes fields to be added, such as 59X SUNY local fields 
        • If you cannot select the field it may be used in another defined field
      • Click Add
      • Repeat step 5 for each local field to be included in the local field
  5. Click Edit from the ellipses of "MARC21 normalization rule for display"
  6. Edit the display norm rule to include all 5XXs included in Local Notes 
    • The example below is the display norm rules to display 590 and 599
  7. Click Save
  8. Click Save
  9. Make sure to Apply Rules when you're done

Creating a Local Field in Configuration so Local Notes can display in the full record in Primo VE

 

Editing the local notes display norm rules

click apply rules

 

To add the field to your full display in Primo:

  1. Discovery > Configure Views > edit your view > go to Full Record Services tab
  2. Click the ellipsis next to "details" to configure
  3. Select "Add Field," select "Add Field" again on the popup window and choose the field you want to add
  4. Click Done and you'll see the new field at the bottom of the display.  Use the arrows to reorder/move the field.

Make a Local Subject Heading Linkable in Primo VE

  • Configuration Menu > Discovery > Display Configuration > Hypertext Linking Definitions
  • Add a new row for Local Subject

add new row