Skip to Main Content
SUNY OLIS logo
 

Alma Resource Management

Working with the Metadata Editor in the Institution and Network Zones. Includes indication and normalization rules.

SUNY OCLC Policy

MSP-IZ-1 defines OCLC as the primary bibliographic utility for SUNY:

  • Members must use OCLC as their primary bibliographic utility
  • Members must use the OCLC record number as the primary match point when exporting records into Alma, except in cases where a SUNY policy has been established to use a different match point
  • The following types of bibliographic records are not required to contain OCLC record numbers or to have holdings set in OCLC (these exceptions should not be linked to the NZ):
    • Records created for ordering purposes
    • Personal-copy course reserves
    • Titles borrowed on ILL from outside the SUNY system
    • Inventory control of equipment or records representing titles in a knowledgebase
    • Host bibliographic records for boundwiths
    • Record sets provided by vendors other than OCLC, including leased book sets
    • Electronic records

Exporting from OCLC to the NZ

Required:

  • OCLC Cataloging account
  • OCLC Gateway Export Profile for the NZ
  • NZ OCLC Integration Profile (created and maintained by SUNY Library Services)
  • Alma Metadata editor is set to have the Placement of new records and templates to the NZ. Make sure the radio buttons are set to Network under Options.


Before adding a New Bib Record to the NZ (Network Zone):

  • Check that the Bib record does not already exist in the NZ
  • Make sure the OCLC Export Profile is active (applied) for the Alma NZ

 

Steps for adding a new OCLC Bib record to the NZ:

  1. Search for the record in OCLC
  2. Edit and replace the record if there are MARC fields in the record that need to be corrected or added to in order enhance the bibliographic information. DO NOT save any local fields or information to OCLC records. Local information/fields can be added in the Metadata editor in Alma.
  3. Export the record from OCLC to the NZ using the NZ Export Profile
  4. Check that the record has been successfully added to the NZ by searching for the MMS Id that was created upon Export

NZ Export Profile

How do I create an NZ Export from OCLC Connexion and Record Manager?

Topics

Answer

OCLC Connexion Client Settings:

To create an OCLC export to Alma's NZ in the OCLC Connexion Client:

  • Open the OCLC Connexion Client
  • Click Tools>Options
  • Click on the Export tab
  • Click Create

    set up export profile
  • Click on the OCLC Gateway Export radio button
  • Click OK

    OCLC gateway export
  • The OCLC Gateway Export - Local System Settings screen opens
    • Host Name: suny-network.alma.exlibrisgroup.com
    • Port: 5500
    • Timeout: 90
    • Retries: 0 (zero)
    • Delay: 0 (zero)
    • Click on the Send Local System Login ID and Password checkbox
    • Login ID: 01SUNY_NETWORK
    • Password: [contact the SUNY Library Services for password]
  • Click Ok

    local system settings
  • Export Destination screen opens
    • Edit the Export Destination name to something identifiable (Gateway Export: SUNY NZ Export)
    • Click Ok

      set up name for export

 

  • Click on Record Characteristics
    Make sure your settings for Bibliographic records are:
    • Record Standard: MARC 21
    • Character Set: UTF-8 Unicode
    • Click OK

Notes:

  • To use the OCLC NZ Export you must choose the SUNY NZ Gateway Export and apply it before exporting.
  • After exporting a bib record from OCLC Connexion Client to the NZ, you'll receive a message that says "The record has been processed successfully, MMS id is ... (ending with 4801)

OCLC Record Manager

The connection information for Record Manager are the same as listed above for the Connexion Client. 

To set up the export:

  • Go to your Worldshare login page
  • Click on the Metadata tab
  • Click on Record Manager. Contact OCLC support or fill out the request form if you don't have a Metadata tab or if you don't see the Record Manager option. It's free for anyone with a cataloging subscription.

    record manager

 

  • Under User Preferences, go to Exporting – Bibliographic Records
  • Select MARC21 with UTF-8 Unicode
  • Set up SUNY NZ export under TCP/IP tab, like Web Connexion, you can only set up one export, not two separate ones for an IZ export and an NZ export
  • Save button is at the top of the page:

    record manager export

Updating an OCLC record in the NZ

OCLC master records may be re-exported to update an existing NZ bib record by:

  • A cataloger who has edited/enhanced the OCLC master record and would like to see the changes applied immediately in the NZ
  • Daily by the OCLC import profiles for updated and merged OCLC master record

To overlay (re-export) an OCLC master record to Alma's NZ:

  1. Open OCLC Connexion Client or Web Browser
  2. Make sure the Alma NZ Export Profile is applied
  3. Search for the desired bib record
  4. Edit/enhance the master bib record
  5. Export the bib record to the NZ
  6. If the export is successful, you will receive a message
    • OCLC Connexion Client: export message with the NZ MMS ID ending with 4801
    • OCLC Connexion Client Web Browser: says that the record exported

NOTE: DO NOT edit an OCLC number in an existing bib record in the Network Zone, which may be in use by another library. Instead, export the correct bib record from OCLC to the NZ. Only brief bib records created for ordering should be edited to add an OCLC number.

Overlaying a Brief Bib in the NZ

  1. Open the NZ version of the bib record in the MD Editor
  2. Click Editing Actions>Add Field
  3. Add the 035 field with the OCLC # as follows:
    • 035 _ _ $$a (OCoLC)############
      • Indicators are empty 
      •  ########## represents the OCLC number
      • Example: 035 _ _ $$a (OCoLC)1121603144
  4. Click the Save icon
  5. Click Record Actions>Release Record
  6. Export the bib record from OCLC to Alma
  7. Check to make sure the NZ bib record and the IZ record linked to the NZ bib record have both been updated to a full bib record

Exporting from OCLC to the IZ

Exceptions defined in MSP-IZ-3 are the only physical bib records that should reside in the IZ rather than in the NZ:

  • online resources (not part of Community Zone collections)
  • personal-copy course reserves
  • titles borrowed on ILL from outside libraries
  • inventory control of equipment
  • host bibliographic records for boundwiths
  • vendor record sets that the library is not allowed to share

To export a bib record to the IZ: Follow the same steps that you would take to export to the NZ but make sure the Alma IZ Export Profile is applied rather than the NZ Export Profile.

IZ Export Profile

How do I create an IZ OCLC export for Alma?

Topics

Answer

To create an OCLC Institutional Zone Gateway Export:

  1. Create an IZ OCLC integration profile in Alma
  2. Create an IZ Alma Gateway Export in Connexion Client or Record Manager

Step 1: Create an IZ OCLC integration profile in Alma

  • Go to Configuration>General>External Systems>Integration Profiles
  • Click Add Integration Profile
  • Integration Profile screen opens
    • Code: [add an identifiable code]
    • Name: [name the integration profile] 

integration profile

  • Type: OCLC Connexion. When you select this a configuration checkbox appears above the code
  • Uncheck use network zone
    integration profile
  • Description: [optional, but useful]
  • Click Next
  • Format: Target Format: MARC21 Bibliographic
  • Normalization: Correct the data using a normalization rule of your choice. Many campuses use the SUNY OCLC Normalization Rule. Please see instructions on how to create an IZ normalization rule from the NZ normalization rule.
  • Validation: Check the data using MARCXML Bib Import
  • Match:
    • Serial match method: Unique OCLC Identifier Match Method
    • Non Serial match method: Unique OCLC Identifier Match Method
    • Merge method: SUNY - Overlay All But Local Fields
    • Do not override/merge a record with lower brief version: [keep unchecked]
    • Do not override/merge record with an older version: [keep disabled]
  • Management Tags: Publish Bibliographic records, unless you do not want the records to publish to OCLC upon import, then choose Don’t Publish
  • Authorization: Password: [it can be anything, remember this because it will be used in the OCLC IZ gateway export you create in step 2]
    Note: the password should be at least ten characters
  • Click Save

Step 2: Create and IZ Alma Gateway Export in Connexion Client or Record Manager

In OCLC Connexion Client:

  • Login to OCLC Connexion Client
  • Go to Tools>Options
  • Click on the Export tab
  • Click Create
    create export profile
  • Click on the OCLC Gateway Export radio button
  • Click Ok
    click ok
  • Host Name: suny-###.alma.exlibrisgroup.com (### = the 3 letter campus code for Alma)
  • Port: 5500
  • Timeout: 0 Retries: 0 Delays: 0
  • Click in the Send Local System Login ID and Password
  • Username: 01SUNY_### (### = the 3 letter campus code for Alma)
  • Password: [password from the OCLC IZ integration import created in step 1]
  • Click Ok
    local system settings
  • Rename the Export Destination Name to something clear to distinguish it from the NZ export
  • Click OK
    export destination
  • To use the IZ export, click on the IZ export (highlighted blue)
  • Click Apply
    apply destination
  • Click Close
  • Export bib record to the IZ
  • If successful, the OCLC Gateway Export Status appears with your IZ MMS ID

 

In OCLC Record Manager:

Note that you can only have one export in Record Manager. It is recommended if you have more than one login to dedicate one login to the NZ export and one login for the IZ export.

The export settings are same for the Record Manager as they are for the the OCLC Connexion client, as listed above.

To set up the export:

  • Go to your Worldshare login page
  • Click on the Metadata tab
  • Click on Record Manager. Contact OCLC support or fill out the request form if you don't have a Metadata tab or if you don't see the Record Manager option. It's free for anyone with a cataloging subscription.
    record manager
  • Under User Preferences, go to Exporting – Bibliographic Records
  • Select MARC21 with UTF-8 Unicode
  • Set up SUNY IZ export under TCP/IP tab; like Connexion, you can only set up one export, not two separate ones for an IZ export and an NZ export
  • Save button is at the top of the page:

Screenshot of Record Manager settings