Alma Resource Management

Resource Management in Alma encompasses the following areas:

1. Cataloging
2. Holding record creation & maintenance
3. Physical inventory creation & maintenance
4. Electronic inventory activation & maintenance
5. Imports
6. Deposits

The Alma Resource Management Libguide will focus on workflows and processes related to physical inventory, such as:

1. Cataloging
2. Holding record creation & maintenance
3. Physical inventory creation & maintenance

For information related to Acquisitions, see the Acquisitions Training Guide. For electronic inventory activation & maintenance training, see the Electronic Resources Management Guide.

Required roles to perform basic Resource Management functionality:

• Cataloger - allows users to perform activities related to bibliographic and holdings records. Allows users to create/manage sets, and manage normalization rules. Provides ability to delete bib records when the last associated item is being deleted.
• Cataloger extended - allows users to deleted bibliographic records in the MD Editor. It must be combined with the Cataloger role.
• Physical Inventory Operator - allows users to create and manage physical inventory. This role must be scoped to a library.
• Physical Inventory Operator Extended - allows users to delete items records and delete the bib record when the last item record is being withdrawn. It must be combined with the Physical Inventory Operator role

Additional Roles:

• Catalog Administrator - Manages administrative aspects of catalog management, including cataloging configuration; can perform cataloging activities for bibliographic and holdings records, including adding and monitoring import/export processes and creating and managing sets. When deleting the last item associated with a bibliographic record, can also delete that bibliographic record. Can manage normalization rules.
• Catalog Manager - Manages the institution's catalog records, including cataloging activities for bibliographic and holdings records, adding and monitoring import/export processes, and creating and managing sets. When deleting the last item associated with a bibliographic record, can also delete that bibliographic record. Can manage normalization rules.