DEI Professional Development and Group Work Advisory Committee

From the website: Collection development should reflect the philosophy inherent in Article I of the Library Bill of Rights: “Books and other library resources should be provided for the interest, information, and enlightenment of all people of the community the library serves. Materials should not be excluded because of the origin, background, or views of those contributing to their creation.” A diverse collection should contain content by and about a wide array of people and cultures to authentically reflect a variety of ideas, information, stories, and experiences.

From the project assignment: The term “diversity” can mean a number of things when thinking about collection development...where you are asked to evaluate diversity in the subset of the collection you are working with, the following list is offered to help identify possible types of diversity that can be considered when doing collection development.

The OLA toolkit covers best practices in collection development, cataloging, and intellectual freedom.

From the website: Rainbow RT Reviews is the official source of media reviews for the Rainbow Round Table of the American Library Association (ALA). Reviews are written by Rainbow RT members and cover GLBT-themed materials for children, young adults, and adults. We review a variety of genres and formats including: books, films, comics, music, and websites.

From the website: he first and most enduring award for LGBTQIA+ books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Rainbow Round Table (formerly the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table). Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

From the website: The Homosaurus is an international linked data vocabulary of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) terms. This vocabulary is intended to function as a companion to broad subject term vocabularies, such as the Library of Congress Subject Headings. Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions are encouraged to use the Homosaurus to support LGBTQ research by enhancing the discoverability of their LGBTQ resources.

From the guide: This guide offers an introduction to the LGBTQIA+ collections of the Library of Congress. The Library collects at the research level in the area of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex and Asexual (LGBTQIA+) studies. Library holdings are particularly strong in LGBTQIA+ politics, history, literature and the performing arts. This guide is organized by subject, format, and time period.

From the guide: These links provide lists of LGBTQIA+ books that you might find interesting or useful. For the most part, these lists are for fiction books, but some lists also include nonfiction books.

is the most popular online bookstore for African American literature. AALBC celebrates Black culture, through books, for all readers to enjoy. We also provide a variety of resources and services to authors and publishers

From the website: The Diverse BookFinder is a comprehensive collection of children's picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC).

While this blog post begins with a focus on children's titles, it also contains pertinent information for collection development for Muslim authors and subjects.

From the website: Latinopia.com is a place to discover & discuss Latino Arts, Latino History, Latino Music, Latino Literature, Latino Cooking and Latino Cinema.

From the website: This site hosts a series of free, online professional development modules for school and public youth services librarians, library administrators, and others interested in improving their knowledge about race and racism, racial equity, and culturally sustaining pedagogy. The primary focus of the Project READY curriculum is on improving relationships with, services to, and resources for youth of color and Native youth.

From the website: "Indigenous librarianship unites the discipline of librarianship with Indigenous approaches to knowledge, theory, and research methodology." (From Indigenous Librarianship by Burns, Doyle, Joseph & Krebs, 2009).

We Need Diverse Books™ is a 501(c)(3) non-profit and a grassroots organization of children’s book lovers that advocates essential changes in the publishing industry to produce and promote literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people.

From the website: #ADA30InColor: a series of original essays on the past, present, and future of disability rights and justice by disabled BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) writers.

With book tours and launches delayed or postponed, the Disability Visibility Book Circle gave one-time grants of $1000 for 13 disabled writers in the US who already have books published this year or plan to have books published in 2020 through June 30, 2021

From the website: This resource is specifically designed to help editors connect with disabled people working in journalism, or trying to break into the field. It also includes disabled experts who are available to serve as sources, such as attorneys, physicians, social workers, artists, and others with professional experience or education that makes them expert sources in their fields.

From the website: Welcome to the Project ENABLE resource database, an organic resource for librarians, teachers parents, and others who serve and/or support people with disabilities. There are currently more than 1,000 items in the database and new items are being added to the database on a regular basis.